Gossip are back: The Portland pop-rock trio have announced Real Power, their first album in 11 years. Ahead of its release on March 22nd, they’ve shared the lead single “Crazy Again.”

For the long-awaited follow-up to 2012’s A Joyful Noise, the members of Gossip turned to megahit producer Rick Rubin at his home studio in Kauai. Recording began in 2019, though the pandemic put halts on the project; it seems like the result was worth the wait, however, with the album described as an “11-track celebration of the galvanizing might of music, the joy of creative expression, and the power of chosen family in the aftermath of collective and personal trauma.”

“When we began, so much about Gossip was about running away — that was always in the music,” vocalist Beth Ditto explains in a press release. “We survived. We came from nothing, and we got the fuck out of there. And to be here 20 years later and still making music together is just incredible.”

And with “Crazy Again,” Gossip are very much back with a bang. Ditto adds that the cheerful tune is “about actually being in love and feeling so safe,” channeled through dazzling production and radiant hooks. Its eccentric music video also conveys the sort of unabashed self-expression that comes with having met someone who just gets you.

Pre-orders for Real Power are ongoing. See its tracklist and artwork below, and stream “Crazy Again.”

Gossip briefly reunited in 2019 for a tour celebrating the 10th anniversary of their debut album, which included a performance at Mad Cool Festival.

Real Power Artwork:

gossip real power new album crazy again new single music pop rock news listen stream

Real Power Tracklist:
01. Act of God
02. Real Power
03. Don’t Be Afraid
04. Crazy Again
05. Edge of the Sun
06. Give It Up for Love
07. Turn the Card
08. Tell Me Something
09. Light It Up
10. Tough
11. Peace and Quiet

Source link